Among the items it now manufactures are propellants and explosives, small arms, radar equipment, optical and electronic instruments, and a wide variety of ammunition and components. Its divisions, together with the location of their plants, are as follows: Dominion Arsenal Division (Quebec and Val Rose, Que.); Explosives Division (Valleyfield, Que.); Filling Division (St. Paul l'Ermite, Que.); Gun Ammunition Division (Lindsay, Ont.); Small Arms Division (Long Branch, Ont.). Instrument and Radar Division (Scarborough, Ont.). The company is responsible to Parliament through the Minister of Defence Production.

Canadian Broadcasting Corporation.—The Broadcasting Act, 1958 provides that the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation shall conduct a national broadcasting service. To fulfil this function the Corporation shall have a Board of Directors consisting of a President, a Vice President and nine other Directors appointed by the Governor in Council. The President and Vice President are full-time executives appointed for a period of seven years; the other nine Directors are appointed to hold office for periods of three years and may serve two consecutive terms.

The President is the Chief Executive of the Corporation and, with the Vice President, is responsible to the Board of Directors for the conduct of the affairs of the Corporation. Located at the Head Office are the senior officers reporting to the President and Vice President who either direct staff departments or the three operating divisions of the corporation. The Staff Departments, headed by Vice Presidents, are: Programs; Administration and Finance; Corporate Affairs; and Engineering and Operations. The Operating Divisions, headed by General Managers whh participate in corporate management activities, are: Regional Network Broadcasting; Frenco Network Broadcasting; and English Network Broadcasting. The Corporation reports to Parliament through a Minister of the Crown (at present the Minister of National Revenue).

Canadian Commercial Corporation.—This Corporation was established on May 1, 1946 by the Canadian Commercial Corporation Act (RSC 1952, c. 35). It purchases goods and commodities in Canada for the governments of other countries. It also acts as purchasing agent for international agencies such as the United Nations International Children's Emergency Fund and the United Nations Korean Reconstruction Agency. Other functions include arranging production and shipment of Canadian contributions of military stores to NATO countries. The Corporation also serves other departments of the Government of Canada. For instance it arranges for the purchase and production of supplies and services which the Department of Trade and Commerce is making available to other countries under the Colombo Plan. In carrying out its functions the Corporation works closely with the Department of Defence Production. It is responsible to Parliament through the Minister of Defence Production.

Canadian Maritime Commission.—The Commission was created in 1947 (RSC 1952, c. 38) to consider and recommend policies and measures necessary for the operation, maintenance, manning and development of a merchant marine and a ship-building and ship-repairing industry. The Commission is established as a separate Department of the Government of Canada though it reports to Parliament through the Minister of Transport.

Canadian National Railways.—The Canadian National Railway Company was incorporated (SC 1919, c. 13) to operate and manage a national system of railways, including the Canadian Northern Railway System, the Canadian Government Railways and all lines entrusted to it by Order in Council. In 1923 the Grand Trunk Railway Company of Canada was amalgamated with the Canadian National Railway Company and since 1923 a number of railway lines acquired by the Government have been entrusted to the Company for operation and management, including the Newfoundland Railway and steamship services in 1949 and the Temiscouata Railway in 1950. The Canadian National Railways Act, 1919 was repealed in 1955 and the Canadian National Railways Act (SC 1955, c. 29) substituted therefor.

The Canadian National Railway Company is controlled by a Chairman and Board of Directors appointed by the Governor in Council, who report to Parliament through the Minister of Transport.

Canadian Overseas Telecommunication Corporation.—This Crown company was created on Dec. 10, 1949 by Act of Parliament (RSC 1952, c. 42) to acquire for public operation external telecommunication assets in Canada, in keeping with the Commonwealth Telegraph Agreement signed May 11, 1948. This Agreement was designed to bring about the consolidation and strengthening of the radio and cable communication systems of the Commonwealth. The Corporation is responsible to Parliament through the Minister of Transport.

Canadian Patents and Development Limited.—Canadian Patents and Development Limited is a Crown corporation established in 1948, pursuant to authority granted in an amendment to the Research Council Act which was passed in 1946. The primary purpose of the company is to make available to industry, through licensing arrangements, new processes developed by scientific workers of the National Research Council. Its services are equally available to other Government Departments, publicly supported institutions and universities. The company also has crossagency arrangements with similar government agencies in other Commonwealth countries. The Board of Directors is composed of representatives from the National Research Council, from Government departments and from industry and the universities. Any profits that the company